A Dream and a Vision

Desher Hyland
2 min readJun 9, 2019

I had a vision that kept me going.

Every single day
The difficult and the simple
I pick up the reel and put it on the deck
Carefully, I thread it through
The flick of a switch and a familiar whir
My smile widens as I watch

Hand to hand with my Marina
Big brown eyes lighting back at me
Jittery old tape
Snaps, next scene

Driving next to my Marina
She turns her head and smiles
A bunch of our kids behind us
Everything slows and even the reel silences to a single scene

Just
Warm
Gentle
Safe
Love
Family

Us.

Then came the day it happened
No reel
No whir
No grainy film

Bright reality.

Marina smiling as we drive
Kids chatterboxing behind us
They love us and they love each other
We love us and we love them

--

--

Desher Hyland

I write from passion. I write to inspire. I write for hope.